Absolute Novice First Project

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Howard33

Reaction score
First off, hello to everyone. Just became a member of Tinboats after doing a bit of research for my first project. I was fortunate enough to be given a 14' flat bottom jon boat with a trailer, x2 trolling motors and outboard. The boat was originally bought for the son of one of my father's friends and the young man never used but simply left it out in the back yard open to the elements. It already had the benches removed and three seats installed. It was also apparently wired at one point but the boat and trailer both could use some real TLC.

Well, I went ahead and removed the seats and found that floor was actually aluminum that had been riveted to bottom of the boat. The carpet was in serious need of replacement and had been affixed to the aluminum with fiberglass mesh tape. The front shelf plate was screwed into the frame and I have started removing it as well. After I get a chance to vac out all of the dirty and such exposed by removal of the carpet I can start scrubbing the aluminum.

Attachments

• 20150121_164643.jpg
    20150121_164643.jpg
    74 KB · Views: 1,914
  • 20150121_164654.jpg
    20150121_164654.jpg
    78.5 KB · Views: 1,914
  • 20150121_164705.jpg
    20150121_164705.jpg
    70.6 KB · Views: 1,914
  • 20150121_164713.jpg
    20150121_164713.jpg
    75.9 KB · Views: 1,914
  • 20150121_164725.jpg
    20150121_164725.jpg
    65.9 KB · Views: 1,914
And this. No idea what brand, year, etc. Just know it works, verified that. Guess I'm gonna have to learn to work on it now. lol

Attachments

• 20150121_165156.jpg
    20150121_165156.jpg
    38 KB · Views: 1,914
  • 20150121_165215.jpg
    20150121_165215.jpg
    49 KB · Views: 1,914
  • 20150121_165229.jpg
    20150121_165229.jpg
    54.7 KB · Views: 1,914