Newbie ready to tackle his first rebuild

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pbwalker

Reaction score
Just signed up today! I saw your site linked on another page and believe I have found the *exact* site I am looking for!

I recently purchased a 1969 14' Aerocraft Aluminum Boat for $225 (with a trailer in great condition). One heck of a deal if ya ask me.

I'll premise this with a few things. I am a techie by trade. I am, in no way, shape, or form a mechanically inclined person. If I cannot fix it with a screw, nail, duct tape, or a ram set, I am lost. I'd like to think I can do these things, but at my age (30) and this point in my life, I am comfortable saying no when I can't do something. lol

What I am looking to do is to simple in idea (I think). I'd like to deck out the boat and put a casting platform in the front.

There is, as you can see, a cover over the bow. Is this safe to remove?

Also, is there an easy way to deck it without having to introduce additional hole into the boat's floor? I'm not comfortable doing that...

I wish there was just a 'kit' I could buy. :p

Does everyone think I'd be better off just paying someone else to do it?

Attachments

• boat3_new.jpg
    boat3_new.jpg
    98.9 KB · Views: 2,486
First off.. Welcome Aboard!

I would not pay someone else to do it - learn something new and you'll be equipped to do it later if you ever buy another boat.

As far as attachments for a deck, you can have it fit tight enough to where you can make it removable. That's the way the platforms are in my jon, it also makes it easier for cleaning.

I would suggest keeping your deck in the front inline with the height of your front bench - that should keep you stable in the water to where you won't be sent flying over if you hook into the "big one" or put a trolling motor on the front.