1960 Starcraft- Should I buy her?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rvdad77

Reaction score
looking at this 1960 Strarcraft 16 footer. i'm new to aluminum boats but she seems like a good boat.. anything i should be concerned about. the owner has done some restoration work to her.. new floors, paint,, electrical. lights..

Would this be a good lake, river boat for me and my family (3 total).

Attachments

• Starcraft1.jpg
    Starcraft1.jpg
    148.4 KB · Views: 19
  • Starcraft2.jpg
    Starcraft2.jpg
    162.2 KB · Views: 13
  • Starcraft3.jpg
    Starcraft3.jpg
    110.4 KB · Views: 10
  • Starcraft4.jpg
    Starcraft4.jpg
    147.7 KB · Views: 12
Yeah it looks very nice but to me a 16' is more comfortable for 2 fishermen. If it had a front casting deck I might push it to 3 but that small tiller is going to struggle with 3. Personally I'd be looking for a 17 or 18' with a casting deck if you are a serious fishing family. If it's just for getting on the water than it may be fine. I'm guessing the 3rd is a child? Because 3 adults would be a tight fit in there. To be fair I'm a plus sized human so you'll have to make the call yourself if it would work for you.

looking at this 1960 Strarcraft 16 footer. i'm new to aluminum boats but she seems like a good boat.. anything i should be concerned about. the owner has done some restoration work to her.. new floors, paint,, electrical. lights..

price is 3500.. . yeh 2 adults and child.. fishing and pleasure ..

Price is reasonable, looks like it's been well restored and taken care of. Nice, albeit small 4 stroke motor. I'm just not a fan of closed bow boats for fishing.

I have a buddy that occasionally takes his family of 4 on the salt in his 14' Starcraft so size is subjective.

Not only is it small, but you lose a lot of that boat space with the enclosed bow.