Prop change

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

New River Rat

Reaction score
I'm about ready for a new prop, as my blades are practically slivers now. I am not afraid to beat the crap out of my prop, as I fish a river that is full of limestone and dolomite. The prop I have on is a 10" diameter and 11" pitch. I have to get power to the prop in a hurry on occasion for safety sake. I was looking at a four blade, 10" diameter, 7" pitch. I need a prop guru here.I rarely run WOT, and was thinking this combo of numbers would be more like a 4X4 for the shoals I climb.

4 Blade Aluminum 10" dia. X 7" pitch

OLD PIC

frontbottom.jpg

I'm no prop guru but I do know you should run an outboard at a certain rpm at WOT.
If your not going to run wide open to often maybe it could work,should get you up on plane in a hurry.
I'd look into a tach so I could keep an eye on the rpm's though.One of those tiny tachs aren't that much and could save the life of your motor,if you run a smallish prop.
What size outboard do you have?
Have you tried a tunnel hull or them pods?

A four blade will give a better hole shot and it should pop right up on plane.
But like Zum said gotta be careful of over reving the engine Guys around here have made pitch fork guards for their lower units to fish the upper James.

https://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m196/BruceS_2006/pitchforkpropguard1.jpg

I was talking to buddy of mine about 4 blade props.
He said tried one it handled and come out of hole better, but he had no power in reverse.
So if back trolling or back boat off trailer would not think it would would work so good.

Anyone else use 4 blade and notice these issues?

I just put one on m boat. 9.25x9 launched and planes a lot faster. No noticble reverse changes. I back off the trailer. Careful when losing though. Doesn't take much throttle now