My delhi 1236

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fishitaway

Reaction score
So I'm new to the forum. Hi guy's nice to meet you all. Beautiful boats I love em all. I just recently came across a butt ugly delhi flatbottom 1236. I plan on making a low deck in the front section. Just high enough to make a level surface. Then I plan on taking the top of the front bench out and make storage space. But the first thing I must do is get the nasty multiple layers of paint off. Which leads to my first question, I want the boat to have the original metal color but need to no if it needs any kind of coating on top of the aluminum? I love the look of aluminum! I melt aluminum for a living and have feel in love with the look of fresh aluminum!! Anyway enough rambling. I plan on putting a stripe down the side and need to know if it's safe to clear coat the paint. I know how to paint cars but I do not know how the clear coat will handle be in water. Thanks guys for any info.

First off WELCOME :) !

As for your boat I'd recommend using a paint stripper. You could sand/wire brush off, but it will scratch the aluminum. After that , your pretty much done. The aluminum will not need any kind of clear coat on it. The clear coat will not stick to the bare aluminum with out some sort of a primer, and that would not leave the bear metal look. If your planning on using it in the salt (which I believe you said in you other thread) then I would not leave it bare. I would consider coating it with something.

Most guys around here prefer the Steelflex coating on the bottom. It seals the bottom and rivits and gives it protection too.

Good luck.