Flats style jon boat mod

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bullship

Reaction score
Hello tin boat folks. I'm in central NC, and fly fish for carp in the lake flats, so this will be my best attempt at a cheap and dirty flats boat. I was going to build a stitch and glue boat, but ended up checking into used jon boats and found lots(with boat, motor, and trailer) that were cheaper than buying materials to get started on a months long experiment.

I know nothing about aluminum, but am a contractor by trade, so I decided to use wood, epoxy, and a little fiberglass(which I also know nothing about) to do my interior 'remodel'. It's still in process, and a poling platform/jackplate/new console/rear deck/etc....will have to be phase 2, but I should have some paint on her by the end of the week and be fishing by next weekend.

It's a 15' Sylvan modified v with a 28 Johnson SPL. The control cables were bad, and the carb gaskets leaked a little, but a little dough and a few minutes, and she runs strong. I clocked it at 30mph on the water test, which is lightning fast compared to the floating moped I had before.
Here's a link to the build photos:
https://s468.photobucket.com/albums/rr50/mattp77/Carp%20skiff%20build/

Attachments

• photo-35.jpg
    photo-35.jpg
    171.8 KB · Views: 5,173
  • photo-36.jpg
    photo-36.jpg
    179 KB · Views: 5,173
  • photo-37.jpg
    photo-37.jpg
    137.8 KB · Views: 5,173
  • photo-39.jpg
    photo-39.jpg
    192.3 KB · Views: 5,173
Good stuff - I like the pvc rod locker set up. I still have my front deck open and might create one on the port side of my boat down the road.