Mikes starcraft 14ft v-bottom complete conversion

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shotsfired

Reaction score
Alright guys this is my first build. I have owned several boats in the past but they were all flat bottoms. I started to get my sea legs back and decided I had to get back on the water. I looked and looked and couldn’t find the boat I had in mind for a price I had in mind so here I am. This site has been super helpful already. I am so excited to get started.
The boat is a 1950’s 14 foot v-bottom Starcraft. It had a windshield, console, two bench seats and a 50hp merc. in her prime. Now it looks like scrap aluminum. The trailer is home made and not strong enough for my plans so I am shopping for one now.
I will need a lot of help so please give me your opinions. All I want is a casting deck in the front and back with a hand till 25hp motor. I have amazing carpentry skills and am not afraid to try anything.

Heres my Questions:
• How can I frame the front with the bottom of bow being so deep?
• How far from the top can I go with the casting deck?
• Livewell?
• Best materials?
• Do I need floatation foam in the bottom?
• The boat is completely water tight should I still use steel flex or would a thick coat of paint be suffice?
• Floor plans to get the most out of my little boat?
• There is not a weight or persons rating plate any ideas on my boat?
The dimensions are 13' 6" long and 53" wide at the transom and 21"deep at the transom and 28" deep at the front.
Tanks in advance!! I work midnights and will update as fast as I can!! Wish me luck!!

Attachments

• boat 055.JPG
    boat 055.JPG
    987 KB · Views: 5,145
  • boat 061.JPG
    boat 061.JPG
    1.1 MB · Views: 5,145
  • boat 071.JPG
    boat 071.JPG
    479.9 KB · Views: 5,145
  • boat 066.JPG
    boat 066.JPG
    599.5 KB · Views: 5,145
  • boat 069.JPG
    boat 069.JPG