1981 Bass Tracker II

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hsiftac

Reaction score
Picked up a 1981 Bass Tracker II with matching 50 horse mercury and trailer. Mostly fixing it up for bass fishing. Boat is in pretty good shape overall. Transom was bad and started to bow out from the weight of the motor as well as crack the splashwell where it connects to the transom. Plans right now are to clean up the transom area, replace the transom and weld the splashwell back on. Motor hasn't run in at least 10 years. Got it off the boat already and will try to get it started once I get a new fuel line/gas tank. I've only ever had tiller outboards so I'm new to the whole steering setup so we'll see how that goes.
Transom mulch removed

Minn Kota came with the boat

Splashwell welds cut

Rotten transom bowing out from the weight of the motor

50 horse merc

Any tips on how to disconnect what im assuming are the throttle/shifter cables shown below so that we can get the motor completely separated from the boat?

The controls should have a pin and a wire hairpin holding them on, if they set low and you can't reach them you can take off the side cover by removing a few screws, take as many photos of what your taking apart and it will help you with put it back together. I'm working on the same thing but my outboard is a 40 hp Johnson and I had to take the sides off to remove the red plug wire it was under the side cover look a attached photo hope this helps

Attachments

• IMG_0115.JPG
    IMG_0115.JPG
    49.7 KB · Views: 3,997
I'll try & get you a picture of the mounting arm on my Merc 60hp of similar vintage - should give you an idea what you're looking for.

Working on getting the controls unhooked still,
we're noticing a few frayed wires on the motor, should these be replaced?

After a call to mercury, my buddy found out the motor is actually a 1984