New Member with new project boat

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Travm70

Reaction score
Hello... new to the site. I have a project that I'm just getting started with. It's an 86 Lowe 1436 with a Mercury 15hp 4 stroke. From what I was told I'm the third owner. The guy I got it from brought it from someone who duck hunted with it and he slapped some paint on it after the camo paint started to peel. The paint looks really rough... but I'm not too worried about that at the moment.
How it looked when I first got it home.
IMG_1912.JPG
I've since taken the seats and all the electrical equipment off it.
IMG_1935.JPG
IMG_1936.JPG
IMG_1937.JPG
IMG_1938.JPG
And then started poking around the rest of the boat and discovered the Transom board was rotten and I've tore that out.
IMG_1930.JPG
There is a lot of work to be done on this thing. Overall its in pretty decent shape. I want to add casting decks to the front and rear using aluminum angle to frame it out. I plan to leave the area between the middle and rear seats open. I'm going to put 1.5 inch Styrofoam between the ribs.
For the transom redo... I have a 9.25X1.25 LVL that I want to use and I think I want to put an additional piece of aluminum angle between the corner brackets. That might be over doing it, I just want to make sure it's sturdy.
My big question now is the strip of aluminum that was under the old transom board.... it runs behind the 2 "seat" like things on both sides of the boat and its riveted in. To it seemed like a place to collect water.
Can this be cut out? and the pieces left in place that I can't get to?
Does the new transom board need to be as wide as the old one?
Is there something that I can coat behind the transom board that will seal it? do I need to take it down to bare metal to seal it?

Thanks for any help!
Travis

Welcome Aboard, Travis !!

#1 = power wash the whole inside of the boat.