Advice on a first rebuild - '78 DuraNautic

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Botch77

Reaction score
Hi folks! This forum has been a terrific source of information lately, but I'm green enough that I'd like to reach out for some specific suggestions.

I got tired of being stuck on shore, so picked up my first boat - a 1978 DuraNautic Coastal 13. It's in pretty solid shape structurally (if not cosmetically), but I most definitely want to do some customizing. Keeping in mind of course, that while I'm moderately handy, I'm also completely new at this and prone to get carried away. As far as an overall plan, my initial thoughts were to take out the center seat, put in a floor, put in a front deck/storage to just a bit past the existing front bench, and MAYBE put in storage along the sides (Kinda like this - https://tinyurl.com/y3fko2a7). The overall application will be mostly lake/reservoir fishing, occasionally venturing into the Connecticut river if it seems like I can handle it, also very occasional trips to the bay/salt marshes chasing blues and fluke. Will run both a 9.9 and trolling motor.

At the moment, my more specific questions are

1) Does that even sound reasonable as an overall strategy, or is there something else I should consider?
2) For a floor - note in the 3rd photo that this thing has a fairly flat bottom, but also does not have ribs. Do you think I could get away with plywood/carpeting right on the hull, or frame and raise it up a bit? How would you attach a floor? I REALLY don't want to rivet anything through the hull if I can avoid it.
3) It's about 50" wide at bench height; do you think putting in side storage would make it too cramped, given that the whole point is to open it up a bit? Alternatively, I could just cut the center bench to a walk-through and leave the sides for storage boxes.