The Sea King Chronicles

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CBGale2

Reaction score
First of all... Hello everyone!! Im new in TinBoat town. I just picked up a unknown year Seaking aluminum boat, its a 15', came with a 18hp 1957 Johnson Seahorse with only about 30hrs on it, and a 97 Shorelander trailer. Picked up the whole package for $375!!! Godbless Craigslist \:D/

I have been reading through all of the upgrades and coversions on here, and I must say I am inspired.... so I thought I would post my project and share. Here are a couple of pictures, I will get some good ones so I have some decent before pictures. The rig has been sitting since 97, so its begging for attention. I started tearing into it earlier today, tore out the rotten wood benches, displaced a colony of carpenter ants in one bench. I hate bugs!, unless they're bait.

Attachments

• SeaKing1.jpg
    SeaKing1.jpg
    6.6 KB · Views: 10,255
  • SeaKing2.jpg
    SeaKing2.jpg
    6.7 KB · Views: 10,256
Alright I took some good 'before' pictures today, wish I would have got one before I tore out the rotted benches, but oh well.

Started on my first real modification today, I like to jump in with both feet :shock: . One thing I didnt like about the boat is so much space is wasted with the covered section up front.... so of course the solution is to get the jigsaw out. There was about 13 inches I could open it up forward before messing with the floatation box that is mounted inside there. I carefully cut the trim piece out, took that and set it on top 13 inches forward and used it to trace the new opening and started cutting, worked out perfect, now I can take that trim piece and reattach it in the new opening and tie the space on the sides together with some aluminum angle. Took the old wood cross support off and traced the shape out for a new one. Now I should have enough room for 3 pedestal seats.