Transom Saver

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

San Dimas

Reaction score
Hello Everyone;

I have a 1979 Valco aluminum boat 14' long. I recently noticed that the top of the transom is starting to pull back from the motor bouncing while being trailered. The motor is a new 9.8 Tohatsu 82lbs. I have rubber straps around the lower unit but it doesn't seem to be enough. Will a transom saver keep this from happening. If so, whats a good brand? Thanks.

I'm not sure if I understand you but is the transom moving or is the motor moving? If the transom is moving, I think you have a serious issue with the structure but if the motor is bouncing, a transom saver may help.

I use a transom saver on my tin and my glass boat. You'll get all kinds of comments on this issue.

First off. While I am still learning about boats myself, I would say if the transom is bending back where the motor mounts with 82 lbs of weight, you got a rotted transom. As far as a transom saver. I would recommend one. I use the Attwood version sold at most Wal-Marts. It is about $27 and mounts to the trailer with one bolt. My opinion is is that you should support the motor while trailering.

If the transom is bending near the center where the motor clamps on they you probably need to replace the wood in your transom. If it's pulling back/bending/cracking where the transom meets the corner gussets, then you probably need a transom saver.