Noob bilge pump question

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrentD

Reaction score
Okay, so I'm brand new to Jon boats (or any full size boat). I come from a kayaking background, so I've never needed one before. Anyway, I have a few questions (for now).
1. Automatic bilge pump with built in float switch or just a regular bilge pump with separate float switch?
2. Atwood or Rule? I'm kind of leaning toward the Rule M500A with the built in float over the Tsunami 500.
3. Is 500 GPH big enough, or should I go 800+?
I'll sit back and check out the responses.
Thanks in advance.

If your boat doesn't leak and you are not in any rough water or storm you should not need one. I could go all day in my boat and get less than a half a cup of water in it mostly from the wet anchor rope coming in probably. As for brands and GPH recommendations I couldn't help because I have not dealt with them.

My boat doesn’t leak but I do have a pump. It’s nice to have if you’re out and it rains or if you leave your boat beached during camping/fishing trips as I do. Unless you plan on leaving your boat tied to a dock, or it leaks like a sieve, an automatic pump is unnecessary. I use the cheapest and smallest pump zip tied in the boat with a piece of rubber hose out the back. Like automotive heater hose. Mine is on a toggle switch. Don’t chince out on the switch. Get a marine switch. An automotive switch will work for a while but even if it’s mounted in a dry location it will eventually fail when you need it leaving you stripping wire with a fillet knife while bobbing in the waves. 500 gph is a lot of water. Fill a gallon jug in your kitchen sink and do the math, I bet it’s a lot less.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk