Rivet Help??

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lil Jon

Reaction score
Been fishing out of my little 10ft boat for years now and it has gotten in such disrepair it isn't even water worthy anymore due to leaks. I am new to fixing up metal boats and need some help.

1. How do you drill out a rivet. (From which end do you do the drilling?) The head (rounded side)
or the side inside the boat?

2. When installing a new rivet, which end to you pound on and which to place the "anvil" on?

3. What do you do when the rivet has pulled through the seat and ripped a hole to big to put the standard size rivet back in? (seat not attached to floor in some places)

I already orderd the flex-steel (learned from lurcking) but I want all the rivets squared away before I put it on. any and all help would be great. Sorry for the "green horn" questions but I really have no Idea. Thanks to all in advance.

I am no expert but have replaced a few rivets.

1. I drill mine out from the inside or flat side. Be careful that you do not go through the boat, you may even use a grinder and grind some of the head off. I will use a nail or nail set to finish driving them out alot of times.
2. I hold my anvil on the outside or rounded side and hit with a hammer on the inside. Rivets are not that hard to brad, just take your time and hit it square so it brads evenly instead of lopsided.
3. If it has pulled through and made a bigger hole, I would want to use a longer rivet and aluminum or stainless washer that fits the rivet, just like you would use a washer with a nut and bolt. I posted some pictures of where I was installing some new seat supports in a old Sea King V bottom a couple of weeks ago.

Hope this helps.
Flintcreek