EFI and Carb motor storage?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ktoelke54

Reaction score
I live in northern climes and, in spite of my love for boating, have to store my motors for about six months of the year. I’ve had good luck with 2 stroke carb motors running them dry before storage, no plugged jets. This is my first year with an EFI motor, a 20 hp Tohatsu. I was wondering if I should run it dry or leave full of stabilized fuel? Also the manual makes some issue of draining the fuel separator before storage. (What ever that is? it’s not the fuel filter.) turbotod, you got me thinking about this with your thoughtful reply to the EFI vs carb post, when you discussed motor storage issues. I like the idea of running a motor periodically, and no doubt this would keep it healthy. But in my case, storing inside but not heated, with temps dropping below zero, makes this impractical. So at this point I’m thinking that just leaving it full of stabilized fuel, removing those covers below the cowling and locating and draining that fuel separator thingy, makes sense, but would appreciate hearing from you EFI owners.

DO NOT run an EFI motor dry!! You will burn out the electric fuel pump.
I would drain the water separator thingy and follow what ever the manual tells you to do.

Sent from my SM-G903W using Tapatalk

I have a Yamaha. Last trip out I add stabilizer / conditioner to my fuel (non ethanol) at Yamaha's recommended ratio for extended storage.

When I get home I disconnect the fuel line at the motor, connect a small container of fuel mixed up with Yamaha's EFI Fogging Oil
& some more stabilizer, and run that through til the exhaust smokes some. I just leave my separator full of the stabilized fuel.
I run what's left in the boat tank (just a portable 6 gallon) in my snow blower. Start in the spring with a fresh tank.