Painting a Boat

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Johnny

TinBoats Supporter
Reaction score
Disclaimer: I have been a professional painter and artisan since 1967.
Painting anything from a U.S. Navy Destroyer to a small Matchbox car.
Started out just whittling with a pocket knife, developing and honing my skills as I gained experience.
21 years in the U.S. Navy exposed me to many different aspects of fabrication, preservation and painting.
After the Navy, I worked for Lockheed-Martin Aerospace for 7 years as a custom woodworker and metal fabricator.
I started carving and painting signs as a hobby probably back in the late '60s. Again, learning on my own.
in 1987, I stumbled upon a "sign makers course" in Columbia, SC for a weekend symposium, $400.
wow - that set me on fire !! Learning from the "experts" all about paints and techniques.
in 1989, I attended a 5 day course of "handcrafting dimensional signs". $1800. What materials to use,
and again, preparation, priming and painting to achieve long lasting results.
Over the years, my skills developed exponentially. Working in many mediums, it just came natural.
After Lockheed Martin, I opened my own Custom Sign Shop in St. Marys, GA and ran it for over 20 years.
My skills in painting and carving developed to the point that I was sought out to teach others. So, in time,
I became an instructor as an artisan, traveling around the United States giving the same weekend workshops
that I had learned from. As a sign painter, we learn many "unorthodox" methods of applying paints and
coatings to a number of substrates. Metal, wood, plastic, etc.
Such as, on a hot sunny day, and you have to letter a truck outside in the sun, add a few drops of kerosene
to your paint. Kerosene does not evaporate, thus giving you some "slip" to your brush. Too much kerosene