Shimano Stradic Ci4+ RD and Shimano Sienna RD

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gnappi

Reaction score
Today I received my newest reel (the Stradic) and had a chance to test it out and compare its function and its much heftier price tag to the humble $45 Shimano Sienna. I bought the fairly unusual RD Stradic because I prefer rear drag reels, and it came up when I had the coin. I guess the planets aligned perfectly for me this past week.

I'm not a pro, but I fish only freshwater a lot and catch lots of 2-4 pound LMB and Peacocks. Truthfully I think most "better" reels may be ill suited to such light duty but it is what it is and that's how I use them. My comments won't reflect how either reel might perform on smoker kings, cuda, dolphin or other open water fish. If you have a Stradic and think it's the best thing since bread and butter, good on you.

Up front let me say the Sienna is a very nice reel and performs Waayyy beyond its modest price tag and I like it a lot... and it's my fave light reel. I'm not fussy about "smooth" and frankly couldn't feel an anvil under my mattress let alone a pea, if I did feel the anvil, I'd move over and give it space. That said, I guess there are a LOT of very granular smooth fetishists out there because "smooth" seems to be the biggest compliment a reel gets, next up after that is drag.

Fishing today, straight away the 4 bearing (3bb + 1 roller) Sienna vs. the 7 bearing (6bb one roller) Stradic at 5x the cost is no less smooth than the Stradic. With a wide range of light to heavy lures (with 8 lb. test) I could detect no differences with a lure in or out of the water.

Sure the Stradic will spin on an empty spool much longer but I can't fish that way so the 3 extra bearings leave me wondering why?