1856 alweld with 150 efi jet

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Grizzly90

Reaction score
I am new to this and looking at boats. I saw an 1856 alweld with a mercury 150 efi and was curious as to how shallow something like this set up would run/float. Thanks.

Great setup in my opinion. The wider the bottom the better it can handle weight.

It will draft maybe an inch or so deeper than a 115/80. That 150 will be about 105 at the pump. It doesn't sound like much difference in hp but the extra torque carries a load much better and hops on plane in a boat length. Should run in the low 40's. Best thing is you can cruise at lower rpms which saves a lot of fuel and have power on reserve for when you need it.

A wide bottom with enough horsepower will run shallower than smaller boats.

Thanks for the info. Not to be too picky but would you have an aroundabout idea on how shallow this boat would run/float?

Draft I would say 8-10 inches.

If it is setup right and running the way it should, it should be able to run down to 2 inches without a problem. Depends on the area you are running, rock ledges and such you want a little deeper. I run a lot of gravel areas and if it is not sticking out of the water, I run it.

I have some videos on here that will show about what it will do. Mine is a 60 inch bottom with a 250 that is about 185 at the pump. They will perform similar.

Thanks for all the info. You were a lot of help. Now just waiting to hear back from the guy with the boat or find another one similar.

dead draft will also depend on weight distribution. If everything is in the back like the counsel, batteries, and fuel it will draft more cause the back will sit much lower.

I have a 1856 Alweld. 115/80 Optimax. TH marine 5 in motor extension. Motor weighs 378 lbs. 2 group 27 batteries and a 14 gal. fuel tank in rear of boat.