1991 Bass Tracker Pro 17 elec wiring

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NASA1

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I have a bit of an issue. I have inherited a 1991 Bass Tracker Pro 17 with the 40 hp Tracker Mercury Marine in really good overall mechanical shape but it has some electrical issues just on the boat itself. I was wondering if anyone has access to a wiring diagram or owners manual? Don't let my forum name fool you, I am a retired federal officer/special agent and not a rocket scientist, so any help would be great. Thanks in advance.

I doubt you would ever find a wiring diagram.

There really was not much to it on my 84. I'd say yours is pretty similar. There was a small harness that ran from the bilge to the console, with wires for the bilge, aerator, and nav lights, and two larger power/ground feed wires that went right to the battery. They terminated at an old glass fuse panel and a ground buss bar in the console.

If the wiring harness is mostly intact, check the wire colors at the bilge and fresh water pump, they should be the same color at the console. Same with the lighting.

The outboard harness ran along side it, but was in a separate loom and pretty much separate altogether.

There were also wires that ran to the bow, two heavier wires for the trolling motor plug, and a 3 conductor harness for the tilt/trim switch.

If in doubt, you can always get a multimeter and run continuity tests to figure out which wire goes where.

Thanks for the reply, yeah I am finding out that it is pretty simple the more I look into the thing. It's a little tight in spots but I am just gonna pull up the deck some to check it all out.

Just finding too many wires cut and hanging right now and the main power or ground is out for the trolling motor. But that one seems very simple. The tilt/trim on the bow works for the up but not for the down.