Difficulty with New Tohatsu

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ppine

Reaction score
I have been running outboards for 60 years, mostly 2 strokes and all used. I have had a 1963 Mercury 6 Twin that was a one pull motor. I had a 1975 Johnson 6 on a sailboat that was one pull. When I was a kid we had a 1929 Johnson 1 1/2 horse that still runs and sits in my garage.

I bought a 6 hp Tohatsu for my drift boat to fish on lakes. It is a 4 stroke engine, long shaft and a 2021 model my first new outboard. I understand that the newer engine are detuned and run lean. I live at 5,000 feet but this engine is supposed to only need hi alt jets above 8,200 feet.

The outboard is new and a little stiff but very hard to start. This is especially true if conks before fully warmed up.
I would like to hear any suggestions that people have for starting new 4 stroke engines. This is very frustrating to say the least.
The old engines worth $200 ran like a dream, now that I have spent the money I have blisters on my hands from pulling the starter rope.
Help.

Is the choke closing al the way?

I have found on small engines that if you close choke, pull it through a couple times slowly (gets gas in cyl) then pull it fast, it starts right up. Maybe good to open choke 1/2 way on 3rd pull so you don't flood it.

4stroke Dirt bike trick may apply.

Pul it over slowly until just past TDC on the compression stroke, let the rope retract, then yank.

This lets the flywheel do a lot of the work.