First boat for family fishing

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

z33tec

Reaction score
Newbie here. I am a kayak fisherman who is looking at getting a boat to take the rest of my family fishing with me. I have two smaller children (7 and 3 yrs old) and a wife. We have a canoe that we use to fish out of, but the wife has gotten sick of it and is not a fan. She wants something more roomy.

I want to start with something fairly basic so I can "learn my way up" in the boating world and not get stuck with maintenance or issues I don't understand and can't figure out myself. Aluminum boats seem to be my best bet in this regard. My budget is the $5k-$10k range.

I'm thinking of looking at this boat (or something similar if this one doesn't pan out.) https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/191524052189254

My wife is more preferential to the pontoon boats. I actually love the idea of one of the smaller pontoons like the Gill Getter or the Bass Buggy. Pontoons just seem like a bit of a behemoth to me though and not sure how it would be for a first boat. Here's a larger one that's already set up a bit for fishing that I'd consider as well: https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/item/304838180675270

Am I on the right track here with 16-17ft aluminums or possibly a pontoon? Anything I'm off base on as a new boater? I want to try to go as basic as possible while also keeping the family happy as I learn about maintaining and keeping up with a boat. Kayaks are so much easier! :lol:

z33tec said:
Am I on the right track here with 16-17ft aluminums or possibly a pontoon? I want to try to go as basic as possible while also keeping the family happy as I learn about maintaining and keeping up with a boat.
I'd opine that as a new boater, getting a newer or better quality rig will add to your enjoyment and ownership.