Here we go again - '83 Bass Tracker Tournament Texas Rebuild

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AggieCollin10

Reaction score
My Grandfather gave me his 1983 Tournament Texas. It has not been cared for. The Suzuki DT60 that was on it was a lost cause, it's parts now. The boat sat in the boat house for many years, then sat in the woods trailered and uncovered for many more. After some research I decided this boat (maybe just the hull) was worth the time and effort to restore. Warning - I have zero boat restoration experience, hell I have almost zero boating experience, but I'm experienced in carpentry and metal work and this project doesn't scare me, I just don't want to make an expensive screw-up because I'm on a tight budget and trying to make use of my welder's ingenuity. I do, however, want this boat to be reliable and last many years.

Condition when I got it -
97785a9b5ccf7ae2438944aae5207df5.jpg

I've worked on it for a few weeks now in my off time and finally have it totally stripped down. Here is the current condition-
dd49c741449fc0423bf14c60f25cd7a0.jpg

d6794e1107f7ca211838cc0d2477f79d.jpg

There are a few issues. There are rivet holes EVERYWHERE (I probably drilled and ground down a hundred rivets). I'm going to have to do a new transom, and there is (what I'm hoping is) minor hull damage. I'm going to try to mimic rook's Flats Tracker project and convert it to a center console.

So, on to the issues-

Issue #1, the transom. I've removed the old transom in one very deteriorated piece, I should be able to trace a template and make a new one fairly easily, and I can weld aluminum, so reconstructing and sealing everything back up won't be an issue. I'm just not sure about the type of wood, epoxy, or hardware I should use to reinstall it, the bolt holes are intimidating, and I have no idea what to do about replacing the jack plate.