Jon Boat to Flats Boat mods

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JRyno10

Reaction score
Hey all, i have been fishing from a kayak on the flats for the past 8 years and am wanting to upgrade. What i was thinking about is a getting a smaller rivited jon. I am not too concerned with it being tippy, as i am used to standing on my kayak seat to spot redfish, which is about 8'9" long and 29" wide. I am looking at getting a 10 or 12ft jon, so i can easily move it by myself, be transported safely in my truck bed, as I am able to put it in the general area i want to fish - with no access to a boat ramp.

So what I am wondering is if anyone here converted a jon to a flats boat? Nothing extreme, but something along the lines of adding a small casting deck to the front of their jon w/ a trolling motor.
I have seen this done many times on here for fresh water fishermen but it seemed like most i have seen use a foot control trolling motor along with a swivel seat. (I have never fished freshwater from a boat, but i am assuming the are seated the majority of the time?) I would prefer to use a tiller handle trolling motor and be standing to spot fish for redfish. Does this sound feasible? I may would use it for gigging flounder as well.

If so, What would be best to cover a deck for saltwater fishing, spray in Bedliner? I just dont see the carpet getting along with blood, crap from the castnet, salt, etc.. but I could be wrong.

:WELCOME:

Check out my project (It is in my signature) (It maybe a little extreme for what you are looking do) but it may give you some ideas. I do have two removable seats in the boat but rarely take them or use them. I also like to stand and fish and so do a lot of bass guys. A lot of bass and flats guys use a butt seat mainly just to lean on not really sit.