Rubberized Paint coating for deck/floor recommendations?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JLeephoto

Reaction score
I'm planning on a remod of my old 14x48 Alumnacraft.
Phase 1: The goal is to replace the old 3/4" ply with something lighter (probably 1.5" foam with a 1/4 ply top) and repaint the entire interior with some type of non-skid (but not too aggressive) rubberized bed liner type coating.
The goal is to make it cooler and quieter and comfortable for my wife/kids.
The boat currently has most of it's factory paint though a few places on the seats are down to bare metal.
IMG_3081.JPG
I think I'd prefer to spray this on though I have zero experience with air compressors and spray guns.
I'm definitely on a budget or I'd just cover everything with SeaDek and call it good.
-What's ya'll recommendations for a good non-skid coating that I can spray on over painted aluminum without having to sand for days?
-What kind of air compressor will be necessary to get this job done (I'd like to do some FB Marketplace shopping for as small/portable a unit that can still work?
-How much material will I likely need for this boat and to totally cover plywood floors?

Phase 2: Will be to clean the old barnacle residue off the bottom and decide on some kind of bottom paint that I can use to keep them off for a couple weeks at a time during summer and to fill some old screw holes in the sides but that's likely a future post.

Thanks for any advice.

Having obsessively read all I can on the topic of painting and non-skid coatings I’m more confused than ever.
But now considering a fresh base coat of a light sand colored durable paint for the inside (but what kind?) before applying KiwiGrip on horizontal surfaces but I don’t know if the texture would be too rough on bare feet or bikini bottoms and
I like to have bikini bottoms in my boats.
Thoughts?