Wish me luck....

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alumacraftjoe

Reaction score
I am a teacher and coach. We run a huge summer camp at school during the summer and I have always do a baseball camp. This year to offer something different I am also running a fishing camp for kids. Well I start Monday and have 10 kids signed up. Each kid gets a fishing pole and a small tackle pack. We will spend 3 days on campus learning about fishing, perfecting casting, etc. Then Thursday we head out and do some fishing. I had a great farm pond lined up, but we had major rainfall this past week and there was some kind of runoff from the fields that caused a fish kill. We will most likely head to one of the parks in Louisville and fish instead. I hope the kids have a great time and some tight lines. 9 of the 10 kids have never been fishing in their life so I hope I can hook a few of them.

I think it's really great what you're doing. Nothing like getting a kid hooked for life (on fishing of course).

Well it went great! Only one of the kids had ever caught a fish before and everybody caught at least one fish. I lucked into an awesome pond. It was very small (1 acre at the most) which was perfect for my group of ten kids. A girl going into 4th grade next year caught about a 4lb bass on the first cast of her life. We had on boy who will be in Kindergarten who did not catch a fish, but the guy who let us use the pond had the kid and his mom stay after until he caught a fish. I had a mom taking pics so when I get them I will post some. It truly was an awesome week. Here is a pic of my group:

Jun092008014_edited-1.jpg

Here we are outside practicing our casting:

Jun092008019.jpg

Great event for the kids, Joe! Something they'll always remember, and hopefully continue into their adult lives. 8) .