My next boat project...An old 1959 Starcraft Constellation

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DanOStarcraft

Reaction score
Hello all. Well, just added another project to the driveway. My wife loves it when I do that... I've been tinkering around with boats, both sail and power for 40 years. I've renovated and rebuilt and built from scratch a few. Hobby stuff. Just came across an old '59 Starcraft in pretty good restorable shape, so that's my upcoming project. I'm sure I'll have questions. Fiberglass and wood I'm comfortable with; aluminum not so much. The first order of business will be to remove the paint.image1 (2).jpeg

Attachments

• image2 (1).jpeg
    image2 (1).jpeg
    324 KB · Views: 0
Hi guys. Thanks for the replies. Yeah, I think this will be a fun one. Rare to find one this old that isn't trashed and that has titles. Inside the boat, under the leaves and gunk were the old mahogany seat frames. So, I have some templates to use and some aluminum trim pieces that just need some clean up and paint.

I was surprised too that the windshield was in such good shape. There is one little crack down low that I might be able to fill and patch but overall it's in very good shape for a 65 year old boat. The guy I bought it from bought it from the estate of a gentleman that passed a few years ago. He said he took it out and to his shock it didn't leak at all. Wow.

A little more research and from what I can find this was the 1959 Starcraft Super Constellation. I think the "super" part was that it was 16' instead of 14'. Seems to be a lot more rare as I can't find any pictures of this model. Even with it being the 2' longer one it's still pretty light at around 300 pounds. So much easier to move around than the '67 Glastron in the last photo.