1957 Lone Star Commander restoration/mod

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OldTinBoatGuy

Reaction score
I bought this old 1957 Lone Star, trailer and 25hp Johnson last year from a neighbor who has a rental house where the boat was abandoned when his renters took off leaving behind the boat and quite a few months of unpaid rent. Anyway, long story short, we got together and did the abandoned property paperwork for Missouri and after about a year, the boat, motor and trailer finally have new clear titles and are officially mine! With that, figured I would get started on the restoration I've been contemplating for the last six months or so.

I want to say thanks to all the folks who've posted their mods on the forums, I've learned a lot and got quite a few good ideas for this project.

The hard work started today! Removed the engine, the old ratty seats, took out the wood from the benches and power washed quite a few years of dirt and gunk from the inside and outside. Picked up a gallon of Aircraft Stripper and set to work getting the old paint off.

I was really impressed with the Aircraft Stripper, it peeled the old paint off with not too much effort. The hard part was around all the rivets and in some of the creases where the scrapper just wouldn't reach. I ended up using the power washer to clean those areas after a good soaking in with the stripper. I managed to get half the boat done before running out of stripper, but after about 3 hours of scraping and spraying I was about done for a little while anyway. I was a little disappointed that whoever had painted the boat in the past, had really roughed up the surfaces prior to painting. I was kind of hoping to go with the polished aluminum look, but I suppose, given the condition of the hull, I will be painting.