'72 Mirrocraft 14 footer rebuild

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Watch4Ice

Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I got an old Mirrocraft 14 foot Deep Fisherman for a good price, but it needs some love. The wood and foam in the seats are trashed, the transom is a rotted 2x8, needs a bit of welding, ya know the normal stuff for a 50 year old boat.

New seats and transom and a coat of paint are in order, at least. I've never done this before and this site has been so helpful thus far, I figured why not make a thread!

Here are some pics from the day I brought it home, when I pulled the seats, and some of the new seats in progress. Plus a spot where I tested some citristrip.

I've got a source for scrap cuts of badass plywood from a high end cabinet shop. It's 13-ply birch with no voids and waterproof glue. I can get walnut or oak veneer, but sadly I didn't have enough walnut to do all the seats so I went oak. I'm planning to reuse the aluminum seat tops and slide them over the wood so I left exposed hardware, but I'm regretting it a bit now that the wood has turned out looking so nice lol.

Just got it back from the welder today, so I'm looking at the prep/paint work list. It looks like there's still a lot of primer adhering to the outside, with the turquoise having faded/rubbed away, and a similar story on the interior. I tested some citristrip and it came right off after an hour. The 3 bright spots are where the emblem rivet holes were filled and ground off, but the rest is kinda gold in color. Is that factory zinc chromate? If there's that much paint still on it, can I scuff it up and paint over it?

Attachments

• PXL_20230730_212927131.jpg
    PXL_20230730_212927131.jpg
    298 KB · Views: 4
  • PXL_20230802_001253038.jpg
    PXL_20230802_001253038.jpg
    355.3 KB · Views: 5
  • PXL_20230823_232135006.jpg
    PXL_20230823_232135006.jpg
    192.9 KB · Views: 2