Deep cycle batteries

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skysail

Reaction score
I was at batteries plus and sears today to see how much their deep cycle batteries cost. Does anyone have any experience with these batteries? What battery do you guys recommend for a 30lbs trolling motor and a fish finder on a 14ft jon. I see they range from around $70 to $250. Are the cheap ones worth it? What size do people normally use on jon boats?
Thanks in advance!

I got a batteries plus deep cycle and have had no issues with it. It's going into the 4th season of use on my 14'v with 28v trolling motor. I used it at least 3-4 days a week during summer running it down just about dead out fishing at least 1-2 times a week, recharging it after every use. It's now in heated storage, other wise would check size. Mine run around $130.

I've been using the walmart version of TM batts for several years, with good luck. I paid about $80-90 for mine from WM, went in a tracker PT175, had a 43# MG on it, could run it 6 hrs easy trolling for crappie. Upgraded to a MK Terrova 55# with IP last October, and it is a variable speed unit so it's more efficient, and I can troll even longer. The KEY to a TM batt (what ever the brand) is proper maintanence, which is checking/maintaining the water on a regular basis, and then charging the batt as soon as possible after discharge, and keep the TM batt charged between trips. I've read where most batteries are made by just a few manufacturers, but no confirmation of that, so it may be you're paying for the name on the side of the battery rather than quality.

TNtroller said: