New Boat Owner

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Inkd

Reaction score
I was given a 1960 18' Jon Boat by Monarch Boat Co. with a 25hp Evenrude with electric start, which all sits on a 1973 tilt trailer made by the Long Manufacturing Co. The boat is in ok shape I've only owned it for about 3 months. I've been on the water about a dozen or more times with it. I had a hub go bad so I replaced both hubs on the trailer which was tough to find because the outside bearing was only 3/4" . I've had the engine serviced but today it was giving me problems at full throttle so I took it to the mechanic and he says that the pack is going out and that the water pump drain plug had gotten hot at some point and melted so no water was spitting out. (I'm not a mechanic so its all greek to me). The boat does have a 1/2" plywood floor and a deck on the bow, along with two bench seats there is also two pedestal seats (one just in front of the rear bench and the other right behind the deck. The transom will need to be replaced probably over the winter. Any suggestions to make this a better over all fishing boat would be great I don't do to much bass fishing but some.

There is a ton of great examples on what you can do to your boat on this site. Take some time to go through them. I've spent the better part of 3 months lurking and reading here. Still do not know exactly what my boat will be like in a year from now, but have gotten allot of ideas.

welcome Eddie Spaghetti, there is a lot if use full reading and advise here. so read and ask I found it helpful.
and I own a little 10' sears jon boat, and they helped me as a new to boating guy.