New project w/ wiring questions

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Team Liquid

Reaction score
I've read several electrical posts but still confused. I have no wiring experience so please be patient with my very basic understanding.

I purchased a 2004 Weldcraft 1548 which I am building out. The outboard is a 2004 Nissan 18hp pull start and does not have charging capabilities. (as far as I know).

I am setting it up with 2 batteries in the bow for the primary trolling motor and FF and a third battery in the stern for a second TM and fuse box with aux connections. My electrical questions are as follows:

I purchased a 3 position battery switch and circuit breaker for the forward two batteries. I understand how the battery switch is wired with the POS wires but I am confused as to wear the ground NEG wires from each battery route and/or terminate.
Where do I connect the circuit breaker?
Also, after the POS wire leaves the battery switch to the trolling motor plug forward, where does the ground wire from the trolling motor plug connect?

Any other input for my wiring?
Thanks in advance for the help.

Before we can really answer, we'd need to know what you're trying to accomplish by having the 2 batteries up front on a switch, but I'm going to guess that you want to be able to switch batteries on your TM if one runs down.

If that's the case (and because I've never wired up a battery switch :D )....for the bow I'd eliminate the switch from the equation and just run the batteries in parallel (+ to + / - to -), assuming that they are of the same size and age.
Batteries in Parallel.jpg