198? bass tracker rebuild

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oldgrg138

Reaction score
Hey everyone! I am new to the forum and would like to post my project here with the hopes of it encouraging me to keep up on the build, as well as inspiring others to do the same. I looked around at a few of the other forums and this seems to be the most active one. That being said, I have never taken on a project this big before. I like to think that I have some mechanical aptitude, but I have very little experience on boats and outboard motors. I am going to be relying mostly on the internet for my info. I have never owned a boat before, but I am very excited and I cant wait to get this project done and be on the water. I am very open to input as I work my way through this, so feel free to give me any suggestions you guys might have. Chances are you have more experience than me.

My plans are to make it a solid entry level bass fishing boat. I want it to be reliable and functional with minimal cost. My current plans are:
Trailer-
Sand and repaint the trailer
Replace the bunks and broken supports
Install a transom saver
Boat-
Pull all decking
Replace foam
New seats
F&R pedestal seats
Replace trolling motor
Install fish finders
Possibly paint (it used to be a duck boat)
Rebuild decking, add compartments, extend and raise front deck
Motor-
Have local shop go through it and replace parts as necessary. It runs, but has a miss at full throttle under load. Previous owner rebuilt 1 carb, replaced all fuel lines, and replaced fuel pump.

Here are some pictures of the boat:
https://imgur.com/a/QzrM9

Thanks for checking it out!