1990 Grumman 14SS

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zip

Reaction score
Like I posted last week I got this boat and already started to go to work. This thread is just a progress thread. I got a 1.5 year old and work opposite shifts as my wife so it probably will be updated slowly. I have been researching quite a bit, but will ask questions in this single thread to keep it all together. I am completely new to rivets (but they seem simple enough).

Either way, just started taking out the floors, and the got the transom removed, rotted of course and will be working on getting the wood sealed and cut for now. While removing the motor, the transom cap snapped in half (it seemed to have been stuck to the outboard lol) so already one piece broken, not sure how I will tackle that just yet.

Quick questions - what is the recommended thickness for floor/deck plywood? Also, should I use the same type of wood for deck as the transom (not pressure treated?).

Attachments

• Transom 1.jpg
    Transom 1.jpg
    105.5 KB · Views: 1
  • Transom 2.jpg
    Transom 2.jpg
    160.8 KB · Views: 0
  • Transom 3.jpg
    Transom 3.jpg
    150.3 KB · Views: 0
The cracked transom cap could be repaired by welding with a patch on the underside, depending on condition of the material.....or some folks just use angle aluminum and create their own. Have saw some with a single layer of angle and some have used two layers of angle. I can remember those days where the playpen was moved into my shop area so I could get something done....lol