Is there such a thing as sonar/fish finder spooking fish

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Douglasdzaster

Reaction score
Question for the gurus. I bought a little Garmin Striker plus 4 and installed with the transducer on the transom.
For the small screen I’ve been surprised at everything it can do. Love the gps functions.
I’m still learning how to set things for certain conditions. Gain , frequency etc.
I have read that some fishermen think it’s possible to spook the fish with the signals put out.
Saw where a fishing guide supposedly used the chirp sonar which is what I have. And he swears it affected his catch rate.
The other day I got into what I’m sure was hybrid stripers schooling. Judging by the other boaters. I have never seen things so obvious on the screen before. The arches where well defined and balls of bait fish. Instead of guessing what I was seeing where bait fish. Streaks where the bigger fish were hitting the bait balls. I tied on three diving baits as fast as I could and started trolling. We couldn’t get bit. I tried different trolling speeds and nothing. We had covered a large area and I couldn’t believe it was holding so many fish. At one point I stopped and checked the Garmin to make sure it wasn’t on simulator. But we made a turn to go back through and this time no fish. It was over and they were gone. I never got close enough to any other boats to see what they were doing but I could here them when someone caught a fish.
Some were trolling others sitting and probably jigging or cut bait has been working according to reports.
This all happened in 20’-30’ of water. The fish were from 25’ up to 13’ deep while feeding.
I definitely wasn’t prepared for stripers but should have been knowing they’ve been schooling. I thought they’d hit a crank bait for sure.