1972 Johnson 25 HP

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

browning84

Reaction score
This is my first post. My name is Nathaniel and I am new to the boating world as of early this year. Went from no boat to 2 boats and 1 motor in 6 months. Rehabed the first one and just got rid of it. I look forward to being here and learning the ways of boats.

I have a 1972 Johnson 25 HP 25R72R that I came on a boat I bought earlier this year. The guy said it ran the year prior but wasn't running after some maintenance he did on it before I bought it. This is my first outboard and I'm not what you would call a small engine mechanic (I prefer larger engines). I sent a pm to Jim to get the manual in hopes that the carb settings will be in there. I unscrewed the fuel mixture adjustment to check the needle and it is clean as a whistle. I know that is not a determining factor on how clean the carb is but it leads me to believe it is fairly clean. This is a pull start motor and about the only way I have been able to get it to fire is at about 1/2 to 3/4 throttle with the choke closed and at that it only occasionally fires. When it fires I can't really keep it going unless I feed it more throttle but it eventually dies. This leads me to believe it might be carb settings and it needs to be dialed in but I don't know where to start on that. New mixed gas in the tank. I am looking for thoughts and pointers on where the problem may be.

many posts like this in the past.....
most everyone comes to the consensus of fuel starvation.
start checking the fuel flow from the gas tank, through the hose,
through the squeeze bulb, check all clamps for tightness, O-rings
in the fittings, then, the fuel pump itself.....
if all that passes inspection, you may have to disassemble the carb
to check the float level, etc etc etc
one small thing could be a big problem.