What rod for my 6000?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Popeye

Reaction score
I have an Ambassadeur 6000 (1973 version) and am planning on retiring it from salmon duty and possibly start using it for casting purposes. Currently it is mounted on a broom stick (actually a 6' 6" very heavy action Garcia rod). I am wondering what kid of rod would be the best for this reel. The style of fishing would be mostly casting and letting it sit (live bait for Catfish and possibly Redfish) and I would be using something like 20# mono. I don't plan on using it for all that special bass casting stuff most of you guys do (flippping, pitching, jigging...). I'm thinking I don't want to spend a paycheck on a rod either. Any suggestions?

flounderhead59 said:
Did I mention I was cheap?

You did - several times. How much do you want to spend (Max?) Maybe a used rod is teh way to go. Keep looking on Craigslist and local newspapers for fishing gear. If you find anything interesting the rule of thumb is that it is worth about 50% of the new price or less

A shimano Crucial will set you back about $120.00 new. Use teh Dicks coupon or your BPS or Cabelas discount and it can be less then $100.00

The BPS X-Treme rods are real good for the price - I use a few of those and, while they do not
compare with my St.C rois rods, they do catch fish and are hassle free

They are on sale right now:

https://www.basspro.com/webapp/wcs/...1_59070_100002006_100000000_100002000_100-2-6