1989 johnson 15hp

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Swampfox88

Reaction score
I am looking at getting a motor for my 1436 boat , I have no knowledge of outboard motors.

If I get a 1989 Johnson 15hp should I be prepared to fix it a lot, or could this motor still be pretty reliable after 24 years.

I don't want to get stuck in a money pit just wondering if yall think I should be more patient. Or if it runs good go for it.

The asking price on motor is $600 is this a fair value, owner says runs great and very seldom used (ofcourse )

Thanks, Could be a stupid question with to many variables, but any suggestions are appreciated.johnson.jpg

I have an 88 johnson 15hp, I bought it off a guy who had it sitting outside for 4 years straight through winters and he never winterized it. I had the carb cleaned up and it's treated me well. I'm having some very minor issues with the little things but i'm very happy with it.

[url=https://www.tinboats.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=315618#p315618 said:
O26A » 46 minutes ago[/url]"]I have an 88 johnson 15hp, I bought it off a guy who had it sitting outside for 4 years straight through winters and he never winterized it. I had the carb cleaned up and it's treated me well. I'm having some very minor issues with the little things but i'm very happy with it.

Ok cool thanks for the info. How much did you pay and how much did it cost to get tuned up just trying to get some rough numbers incase it needs a tune up.

$600 for that motor is kinda steep since its in mediocre cosmetic condition. Been sitting on a boat out in the water for years so its sun faded and the lower unit is probably permanently stained.
Make sure it has good compression (approx 100 psi per cylinder) and check the oil in the lower unit and make sure its not milky. If it starts easy and runs good then that motor is probably worth $400-$500 in your area.