Boat trailer Paint and wheel help!!!

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

walleye88

Reaction score
Im new to this sight and just got my first boat! Some of you may have seen my post on 1960 16' wards sea king!
Anyway i'm restoring the boat and while i'm waiting for it to get warmer for paint iv decided to move on to the trailer! Ill take a better photo of the trailer once i get the boat off of it this weekend but I was just thinking that the wheels look alittle small for the would it be worth it to see if i can upgrade the trailer to take bigger wheels? Second question does anybody know where I can get fenders to put over the wheels??? Or do i have to fabricate them myself? And final question, the trailer has some surface rust so I was just planning on sanding it down or grind it down then hit it with Rustolium self etching primer then painting it black using rattle can tractor paint! Would this be an ok way to paint the trailer??? Thank you any info helps! =D>

Attachments

• boat.jpg
    boat.jpg
    47.5 KB · Views: 1,722
From your pic, the wheels look like 10". You should be able to put 12" on the same hubs with no problem. Harbor Freight has them for about $40 ea. (Wheel and tire). Get one of thier 20% off coupons and save a couple bucks. Just be sure to get the same lug nut pattern you have on your trailer.

On your fenders, Tractor Supply had the plastic ones for $40 ea. A few days ago I picked up a steel 55 gal. drum for $10, cut off the bottom 9" then cut that in half.. BAM... Two steel fenders for $10 total. I used 3 large screws on each one to attach them to the frame of my trailer and they are a perfect fit for 12" wheels.