Hydrofoil Stabilizers Do they work?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aaron2000

Reaction score
I am fairly new to boating and fishing fresh water... I have a wide 14 ft. jon and i'm putting a 1996 johnson 25 hp on it. stepping up from a 69' evinrude 18hp. anyway this new "used'' engine has a doel-fin hydrofoil stabilizer that comes with it and i just wondered if putting it on the engine would make a noticable difference? Just wondered if anybody out there ever used this or any other type of hydrofoil system?? Any info would be great. Thanks.

Some people swear by them. I wouldn't be caught dead with one. "Friends don't let friends use whaletails....." (Signature of a member on another board).

The only thing they are supposed to do is help with stern lift. They won't really help with anything else. Had I a problem with a lack of stern lift, I would be going with trim tabs, or likely smart tabs on a larger boat, or some sort of fixed tabs on a smaller boat (there was a thread on this a couple months ago. Search homemade trim tabs, or something like that to find that).

I've only seen those work at high speeds on light weight boats.Then they can make the boat a bit twitch and give an unsafe feeling.I personally wouldn't use one.

I put one on a 17 ft. fiberglass with a 70hp Johnson I used to have. Made it pop up on plane twice as fast. I had no issues at all with handling and stability. Heavy boat though. I have no experience with one on a tinboat.

phased said:
I put one on a 17 ft. fiberglass with a 70hp Johnson I used to have. Made it pop up on plane twice as fast. I had no issues at all with handling and stability. Heavy boat though. I have no experience with one on a tinboat.

They are very different on a glass boat.On a light tin boat,they try to lift the transom out of the water,and make the boat feel skidish at speed.