trolling motor ? and fish finder ?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

V8_TITAN

Reaction score
just curious, how many of you prefer your trolling motor to be on the bow vs the transom ? I have a 45lb motorguide vari max, and currently use it on the transom but im thinking of moving it. What are the advantages of having it up front ?

I have no knowledge on depth finders or fish finders. What all can you do with them, and dont tell me to look at what they are called lol. But really, do I need one ? Id like to get one, just because but is it really needed ? Just want some opinions on what works for you, and what you think is a good unit on the cheap side of the spectrum.

have read comments that a TM on the bow makes controlling the boat easier. I have no experience with a TM on the transom, only what I have read. It really depends on your method of fishing i would guess.

If you're catching fish all the time, then no you don't need a DF/FF, you seem to be able to find them w/o one. most people have them but they are not a necessity, just an aid to help find the fish or structure that fish like to hang out at. A $100 DF/Ff shows basically the same info as the $1000 units, just not as pretty that's all. It depends on what you want to do or the budget you have.

well I want to catch fish, and my budget is probably at that 100 bucks lol. that includes everything like transducer and all ? I mainly fish for trout, reds, snook, mostly stick to the flats, and mangroves. I would say I have more bad days fishing then good. Since I am new to boating, I dont really have any good fishing spots, I just go out and either try a spot that produced last time, or try something new...

TNtroller said:
A $100 DF/Ff shows basically the same info as the $1000 units, just not as pretty that's all.