Weight questions

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Codeman

Reaction score
When does weight start being an issue with a Jet outboard? Right now my boat is an empty hull and it GPSs about 23mph on rough water packing my 300lb+ butt and my 160lb or so buddy. I need weight in the nose to keep it down. How much weight can I add before I will start to see a drop in MPH? That being said I prob have some more speed in it due to the gap on the impeller and the liner really needs to be changed. I want to get this thing decked out to fish out of but I don't want to turn it into a pig.

what size is your motor?

How big is your boat?

The smallest amount of weight makes a huge difference if your watching a gps or timing your boat to reach plane. The two most determining factors that I have found to effect performance by the seat of your pants (hence, im not an expert) was boat set up and impeller and liner.

The boat set up or balance is very important. If you add a deck made of wood and a trolling motor, i dont think it would effect you very much. You may have to redistribute your weight, having your buddy ride in the rear with instead of riding up front to get weigh in the bow. but if you add a wood deck and wood floor, i think it would really hurt your performance. I am a huge fan of aluminum mesh flooring. Its lighter than plywood, and allows all the sand to fall through to the bottom of the boat and out the rear drain holes. rather than having to vacuum the sand out.