14ft Mirrocraft tri hull (First timer)

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

EAsports06rf

Reaction score
I recently acquired this boat from my father. I stumbled across this site while doing some research on how to mod this boat. This forum has been a complete inspiration to me! The mods I've seen have just blown me away.

I'll take a minute to introduce myself: I'm a recent college graduate from central NY, and when I say I'm a novice with this kind of stuff it's an understatement! Being from NY, I don't have a lot of time to get work done since it will be winter very soon (I don't really have a heated place I can do work during this time.

Now, on to the boat...it is a Mirrocraft 14ft tri hull boat. It is 60" wide and measures 18" tall. I guess I should also mention that this is a fiberglass boat. I would like to do the following to it: front/rear casting decks, cooler livewell, storage, rod holders, etc. I will have a 7.5hp merc to put on the back as well as a 40lb thrust Minn Kota Traxxis for the front.

Since I am a complete novice, it would come as no surprise that I'm a little overwhelmed with the whole process, and I'm just looking for ideas and direction on how to accomplish what I want. If it seems like I'm rambling, I probably am. But I do want to give you guys as much info as I can about the boat.

I've attached a photo of her below:

As you can see, she's in rough cosmetic shape. I don't really see much wrong with the hull, though. On the inside, there does seem to be some cracking. I'm assuming it's just the old paint, but I'm not sure. I'll try to get some pics of the cracking up in the next day or so.

I am concerned with a couple of things:
1: can I lay the bracing for the decks directly on to the fiberglass, or does it need to be buffered somehow?