Do you suppose this battery has life left??

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

paper

Reaction score
The boat I recently bought came with a 27 series Autocraft Marine/Deep Cycle battery that was purchased new 3 years ago and used for about 2 hours in that time. Unfortunately I think it was charged even less in three years..

I put my 10amp charger on it for a day and a half and at first it was pulling 8 amps. A day and half later it was pulling 6 amps..
My meter says 12.2 volts and the charger has not been on the battery for 10 days.

I have very little experience with the symptoms of a failing deep cycle battery. I would have thought that 36 hours on a 10amp charger would have brought any battery to full charge, but as mentioned, it was still pulling 6amps.

Should I;

put the charger back on it?
drain the battery with some lights and re-charge?
consider it a core and buy a new battery? #-o
charge it some more and use it and see what happens?

I'm in the process of electrifying the boat, starting tomorrow.. All it had was a clamp on trolling motor and bilge pump. I'm putting a complete panel with breakers and switches to operate navigation and operational LED lights. My motor is a pull start Yamaha 15hp so I don't need power to it or anything other than lights and a trolling motor. I also have a Merc 3.3 for all day trolling if needed, so basically the electric trolling motor is for jockeying the boat around in tight spots and maybe moving the boat (14' MirroCraft) 100 yards between fishing spots and whatnot.

Probably just a trade in battery now. You could take it to be tested or put the trolling motor in a garbage can of water and try it.
That's what you want it for anyway. Monitor voltage while you are doing that, if it drops below say 11 volts, it is junk.