Is 30lbs of thrust enough?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

woondirch

Reaction score
Hello,
I'm new to boating, please correct me if need be. My girl and I picked up a 1970 12ft sea king aluminum boat. It has a few leaks, but thanks to the info on this site I'm able to deal with it. My question is : as far as battery life is concerned, should I go with a 45lb thrust, or the much cheaper 30lb thrust motor?
I have an old 2hp clinton, but it needs a bit of work. I would like to get out on the water as soon as possible, while I'm working on the old clinton.
I took the boat out on Canyon Lake, AZ with oars as an experiment and the wind really was a factor.
I would like to buy an electric motor soon, I just do not have any experience of using a 30lb thrust motor. or any motor for that matter. I do like to fish, but it also will be a pleasure boat. (as in enjoying the view)
Is 30lb of thrust enough?

Yes it is enough, especially if you have a gas outboard too. I have a 30 on my 16' and it pushes it fine. Mine would be better for me if mine had a 36" shaft but it works fine.

I now have two trolling motors on my boat, but I was just running a 27 lb M-K Turbo on my 14ft shallow v, and really it wasn't enough. running against the wind was difficult at times, and really running at full speed with the wind was too slow for me. Took forever if you're fishing backwater or a bigger lake.

bigger is better when it comes to a trollin motor i would o with the 45.. if the wind will be happy you have the extra power

i run a 35 on my 14 ft. v. along with a yamaha 15. its good for trolling ,but any electric sucks in heavy wave or strong wind,and will kill the battery fast,and i run dual deep cycle marine 27's.