My New 1432 Sears Gamefisher 1978

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

topgun15v

Reaction score
OK here is my story. I love fishing, but just got married and have been strapped for money. I figured I would buy an older boat and fix it up as cash becomes available. I found this on Craigslist, but the guy I bought it from advertised it as a 42 not a 32. With it being my first jon boat, I couldn't tell the difference in the pictures and after a 2 hour drive round trip and borrowing my friends trailer I couldn't turn her down.

My wife loves to fish as well, so I am looking to make a good 2 person fishing boat for small lakes around the area here (mainly bass fishing, and carp fly fishing). I have read and seen some excellent ideas on this forum and I am very excited to start my own soon. Any ideas and recommendations would be beneficial as I am new to jon boats.

I do know that a 32 is very skinny and has had issues with stability and decks. I am looking to buy a 30lb thrust TM, then maybe a 2.5 or 5hp mercury. Let me know what you guys think, and I will keep you posted on my progression this winter! Thanks, Ryan

Attachments

• Tin1.jpg
    Tin1.jpg
    57.5 KB · Views: 1,716
  • Tin2.jpg
    Tin2.jpg
    56.9 KB · Views: 1,716
  • Tin3.jpg
    Tin3.jpg
    54.8 KB · Views: 1,716
  • Tin4.jpg
    Tin4.jpg
    65.8 KB · Views: 1,716
  • Tin5.jpg
    Tin5.jpg
    52 KB · Views: 1,716
Welcome aboard, you can update your profile to show your location, there might be some local help or parts.

For me, since it isn't what you really wanted I would do minimal mods, basicly clean it up, maybe paint it. Add some cleats and a seat mount to make it more user friendly and enjoy it while saving for the boat you really want to keep and use.

Enjoy,
Jamie

Thanks, I got my profile fixed up now. Yeah my real boat will be a 16ft Carolina Skiff J16, but its $7k.