Ordered Goop 'Coat-it'--review pending--

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bigkat650

Reaction score
Well I ordered some Goop 'Coat-it'. They advertise it as a 2 part epoxy with kevlar fibers to reinforce. I intend to use it on the bottom side of my aluminum boat much like people use the popular Steelflex. Here is the link:

https://eclecticproducts.com/coatit.htm

I intend to do a complete review for this product, as there is little info on it. The reason I chose it over Steelflex is simply, it was cheaper at $64 shipped to do 80sf.

So as I wait for the product to come in the mail, I ask you--what would you guys like to see in a review? I know I would have liked to see more on this product before I purchased it. I have no experience with steelflex, so unfortunately I will not have much to compare to. But I don't mind taking as many pictures and notes on the install and performance of the product once its hardened as needed.

So thoughts? Anyone curious as to how this product performs?

Coat-it is good stuff, most people use it on the inside of their hull to seal their rivets and seams.

A word of advice, Coat-it isn't UV resistant and needs to be painted over to keep the sun from breaking it down over an extended period of time. This is included in the directions/instructions, be sure to read them.

I believe the instruction recommend wiping the surface down with laquer thinner prior to application, you'll want to do that too for a good bond.