Reshape and Balance Propeller?

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NS4Jay

Reaction score
Can a propeller be reshaped and then balanced to get a little more life out of it?

Attachments

• IMG_9857.jpg
    IMG_9857.jpg
    187.7 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_9858.jpg
    IMG_9858.jpg
    159.6 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_9859.jpg
    IMG_9859.jpg
    171.8 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_9860.jpg
    IMG_9860.jpg
    166.9 KB · Views: 0
There are services in my area that rebuild and balance props. That one might be cheaper to replace.

I’m new to all this but propellers look really confusing.
Mine is marked 8 3/8x6. Still looking to see what came stock.
Looks like there are as many options as beers.

8 3/8 is the diameter and 6 is the pitch of the blades. Numerous dia and pitches are availiable to match the boat and weight. Fewer options on small motors under 10 hp, but as the hp increases so does the selection of different props. Sometimes the prop is changed or repaired and will be remarked by the repair person if the new dimensions are different.

If it's only 8 3/8 x6 it's not worth getting repaired. A new one will be less than $100, a decent repair would be at least $200

I could be wrong, but get the impression the poster is wondering if he could do this himself, not farm it out. I also wonder about this. Couldn't you remove the rough spots and balance it just like a lawnmower blade using a grinder? OK, I'm a noob too, so give me a break if this is a totally stupid idea....LOL

Couldn't you remove the rough spots and balance it just like a lawnmower blade using a grinder?
Yes, at least remove any high spots and do your best to smoothen gouges, but any prop worse than this is a candidate for a spare or recycling. Personally I've never worried about balancing small props like that ...