Restoring my 1988 Blue Fin Bass Dominator

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BassDominator

Reaction score
Hello all, i am new to TinBoats.net and have seen some of the work you fellow anglers have done and have been quite impressed so I found my own deal and am hoping to turn it into my own dream boat.

I just acquired a 1988 Blue Fine Bass Dominator for around $1500. The motor looks like it is in great condition with probably less than 100 hours on it the rest of the boat however needs some work. The sun and weather has ruined the carpet as well as the decking. All the gauges, steering wheel, switches, older sonar unit etc are ready to be pulled. I cant wait to dig in and start stripping it down.

A few questions i have are:
1. is marine grade wood a must if your boat is not going to be exposed to the "elements" much, i live in northern california where we get no snow and not tons of rain. I figured treated wood would handle fine...

2. should i use 3/4" treated plywood or what size???

3. should i purchase new carpet from bass pro shops or should i just purchase it from my local lowes hardware store??? its cheaper at the local store but I don't know if the quality would be as good?

4. what did you use on your aluminum boat to get ride of old oxidation quickly? i have heard sandpaper with vegetable oil on it then buff it using corn starch????

ANY TIPS, IDEAS, AND ADVICE YOU MAY HAVE WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED!!!!!!!

Attachments

• IMdgG_0778.JPG
    IMdgG_0778.JPG
    1.4 MB · Views: 7,131
  • IMG_0779.JPG
    IMG_0779.JPG
    1.6 MB · Views: 7,131
  • IMG_0780.JPG
    IMG_0780.JPG
    1.5 MB · Views: 7,130
  • IMG_0781.JPG
    IMG_0781.JPG
    1.4 MB · Views: 7,130