rolling paint on an aluminum boat

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

crankbait09

Reaction score
I am going to be rolling the paint on to my aluminum jon boat.

I was in HD tonight looking for something that said "use me" for best results. But I came up empty.

I know when it comes to using a brush, you want to use a Natural Hair Brush.

What type of roller should be used????? I am using an oil based gloss enamel, if that matters.

Never painted a boat before but I am a Painter by trade and when I paint steel doors I always use a 1/4 MoHair roller. It lays the paint down good and dries smooth. If you buy the more expensive Mohair rollers you get NO fibers in the paint.

I used foam rollers on mine. But I also went with Rustoleum Hammered paint so that imperfections will be hidden and any touch ups blend right in.

I have actually used those little foam rollers and tight nap rollers. The foam ones that I used gave me a few fits with tiny bubbles and such. Ultimately, it didn't much matter with the flat enamel I was using. If I were looking for a nice, smooth, glossy finish, I would try to spray it. You may want to do a google search for instructions on how to roll-paint cars. You may be surprised how much info there is for that and I am sure much of the same stuff would apply to boats.

jgibson

I was looking at those rollers when I was at HD tonight. I recognized the wrapper. $6 for two aint to bad. Do the rollers hold up well or will I have to buy a number of them?

Also, I have never spray painted anything. I was hoping to roll. I bought the gallons of paint tonight. can you really see the rolling flaws if you are not right on top of it?