tracker trailstar bearing and seals

TinBoats.net

Help Support TinBoats.net:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

doc1976

Reaction score
Hey guy's, new to the site and already have a question.

I am doing bearings and seals on a 99 tracker trailstar trailer, and after removing the hubs, I found o rings on the axle shaft behind the grease seal. I am not an expert but haven't come across this on the few trailers I have done. any ideas why they're there or if they even should be? the third photo is with the o ring removed for a clear photo of the stub axle. I didn't even see it was an o ring until i began cleaning the dirt/grease off the axle shaft.

it also appears that there is a sleeve of sorts pressed onto the axle where the seal rides. I wonder if that is factory or if a repair was done at some time and that requires the o ring?

Go to bearing buddy's web site and look at their spindle seals.

I haven't test fit the hub on without the o ring. I looked at the bearing buddy site and those seal kits but they are different, I thought that might be it too. I can't see any reason these are here, and there is no listing for them in any parts catalog. I am guessing it was someones half a*# fix at a previous time. I am going to remove it and install the hub normally. i guess after the first trip to the lake I will find out!

I have them to on my trailstar. Tracker puts them on I think. They serve no purpose. I think they have more to do with the paint job. Protect the seal from being painted...

[url=https://www.tinboats.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=341198#p341198 said:
Bugpac » 08 Feb 2014, 07:05[/url]"]I have them to on my trailstar. Tracker puts them on I think. They serve no purpose. I think they have more to do with the paint job. Protect the seal from being painted...